Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Help with new weapons  (Read 760 times)

InfinityWEAPON

• Bay Watcher
  • Not as cool as he thinks he is.
    • View Profile
Help with new weapons
« on: August 26, 2011, 07:54:35 pm »

SO I'm a newb and....

I've been trying to mod in some new weapons (namely, guns) in such a way as to co-exist with crossbows. Unfortunately (being a newb) I've run into an endless slew of problems.

The most pressing of which is that the items I've tried to mod in don't seem to exist. The workshop and commands are there and 'work', however when I que up a 'create -gun-' order, the worker walks over, then walks away. The order dissapears. No weapons are made, no materials used, and no error messages.

I'm at a loss as to what I'm doing wrong :(

The basis of my coding is:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

If anyone could offer any insight into how to fix my troubles, I would be very grateful.
The bacon is currently molten, this is a problem.

Putnam

• Bay Watcher
  • DAT WIZARD
    • View Profile
Re: Help with new weapons
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2011, 07:58:18 pm »

Well, for one thing, all your guns are using skills like "RAILGUN" and "PISTOL"; you may want to fix those to CROSSBOW or such, E.G

Code: [Select]
[RANGED:RAILGUN:SLUG]
Should be

[RANGED:CROSSBOW:SLUG]
Also, you should look at your errorlog.txt.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2011, 07:59:53 pm by Putnam »

InfinityWEAPON

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2011, 08:02:21 pm »

Ah, thanks. I'll try that.

EDIT: Try'd, didn't seem to work.
Also, the errorlog is filled endlessly with pathing fails. Near the bottom, though I found that the 'WEAPONSMITHING' token I used isn't recognized. I'm gonna work from there.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2011, 08:09:53 pm by InfinityWEAPON »

Hugo_The_Dwarf

• Bay Watcher
  • Modding Mentor
    • View Profile
    • Regeneration: Forced Evolution