Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: Dwarf Fortress - Card Game  (Read 10861 times)

Hoggypare

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Dwarf Fortress - Card Game
« Reply #45 on: August 24, 2012, 04:30:04 pm »

A side note: I am a software engineer and my best playtesters are actually QA from my dev team at work. They try intentionally to break the game. It is infuriating but really useful. If you know any QA engineers, try to get them to play your game. That is a guaranteed way to find bugs.
Yes, this.  I would make a terrible playtester for a game, for instance, because I tend to play games the way I think the designer intended for them to play, rather than looking for the easiest way to break them.  A lot of people are the same way, and even those that aren't might pick up on a broken combo that someone else missed.
I see what you mean, I will do my best but my options are limited. I think only a couple of my friends are into card games. Unfortunately I don't know any QA engineers, but those guys I said about have some experience with various ccg's, they played also in tournaments so I think it wouldn't be as bad. Also I'd ask you to playtest as well and I'd be really happy to hear your feedback.
I think soon I will release playtestable version and hopefully we'll get to polish it together :)

Rexfelum

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #46 on: August 24, 2012, 09:14:01 pm »

Has there been a thread on Bay 12 about Card Hunter yet?

perhaps you should make one.

Here it is, from when the project first appeared online.  So nevermind.

A side note: I am a software engineer and my best playtesters are actually QA from my dev team at work. They try intentionally to break the game.