Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Pressure in a tower  (Read 547 times)

kefkakrazy

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Pressure in a tower
« on: July 23, 2009, 03:07:40 pm »

Alright. I've got some experience building huge water tanks, but I'm playing with Quickfort and trying to find new uses for it.

I've got a template for a 10x10 tower that I put together, and I think I might try using it to quickbuild my water towers. I just wonder whether it would work properly: If there is a solid floor on every level, with the only connection being up/down staircase shafts, will water pressure still occur?

I'm FAIRLY certain it will, but I wondered if any of you have any direct experience with this sort of thing.
This is a Dwarven corpse. All craftsdwarfship is of the highest quality. It is encircled with bands of pathetic and menaces with spikes of fail.

Albedo

• Bay Watcher
  • Menacing with spikes of curmudgeonite.
    • View Profile
Re: Pressure in a tower
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2009, 03:17:08 pm »

There's no written reports that staircases kill vertical pressure - in fact, some imply they help the flow.  (Haven't studied it myself, kinda obscure.)

Jim Groovester

• Bay Watcher
  • 1P
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2009, 03:18:13 pm »

I've had experience with this when I was trying to find a cave river. Stairwells do transfer pressure.
I understood nothing, contributed nothing, but still got to win, so good game everybody else.

dragon0421

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2009, 07:17:39 pm »

Stairs do handle lag better than waterfalls though, in my experience.

Andir

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2009, 02:14:20 pm »

Stairs do handle lag better than waterfalls though, in my experience.