Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: I am disturbed right now  (Read 5367 times)

Draignean

• Bay Watcher
  • Probably browsing tasteful erotic dolphin photos
    • View Profile
Re: I am disturbed right now
« Reply #45 on: August 29, 2011, 12:04:25 am »

To Op:

Now, more seriously.

I understand how you feel, I wish aurora rendered full 3D space battles, I wish dwarf fortress adventure mode was a first person epic with Witcher2 graphics, I wish that I had a toilet made out of solid gold. But in the words of Jayne Cobb: "If wishes were horses we'd all be eatin' steak."

I am a mediocre writer, I do the best I can. If a random person were to read what I wrote however and told me that it was an utter pile of mouse droppings garnished with larks vomit I would still be fairly pissed at them. Why? Because I don't that they can do better.

In my way of thinking there are two things to do if see something that you think needs to be done,

A. Do it.

B. Walk Away.

Whining about how bad something is gets you nothing, if you want to make a 3D DF then more power to you. I am not a programmer, beyond a few simple lines of utility code and a couple tricks I know jack about making that stuff tick. You want 3D DF, make it. You want a better game with physics and lighting and all that good shit? Make it.

Don't make a post on a forum that is paid for by the person who you are insulting telling them how they are smothering their creation. That my friend is ungrateful and rude.

I have a degree in Computer Seance, that means I'm officially qualified to tell you that the problem with your system is that it's possessed by Satan.
---
Q: "Do you have any idea what you're doing?"
A: "No, not particularly."

sockless

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #46 on: August 29, 2011, 12:13:09 am »

Oh lord, DM images.