Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Can't butcher animals!  (Read 3993 times)

dynamite8100

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Can't butcher animals!
« on: September 23, 2012, 02:23:24 pm »

Help!
Hi, I'm relatively new to dwarf fortress, only having played for around 4 months now. I've mastered fortress mode, and am doing pretty well on adventure mode, except for one thing: I cant butcher animals! Because of this my last 3 adventurers have starved to death. I did as the wiki said, I held a bronze dagger in one hand and a buzzard corpse in the other, pressed x, went down to butcher, pressed right arrow key, but there are no corpses listed! This still doesn't work when the corpse is on the ground. Is there something I missed? Is this the right place to post this? I dont know! Please help.

Dynamite8100
"This is not war, this is pest control."

GoombaGeek

• Bay Watcher
  • Horrors! Crundles in the caverns!
    • View Profile
Re: Can't butcher animals!
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2012, 02:29:00 pm »

I think animals like ravens and buzzards are "too small" to butcher.

But I'm probably wrong... I've had the same problem :P
My wooden badge was delicious.

XXSockXX

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2012, 02:32:10 pm »

I think animals like ravens and buzzards are "too small" to butcher.

This. That is also very annoying in fort mode with hunters wasting bolts...

Kill something a bit bigger, like a turkey.

dynamite8100

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2012, 02:33:05 pm »

Ive had the same problem with larger animals though, like boars.
"This is not war, this is pest control."

XXSockXX

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2012, 02:37:11 pm »

Just re-read your first post...You don't need to have the corpse in your hand, it can just lie on the ground, maybe that's it...

EnigmaticHat