Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Individual Training Drill? I want them to spar. D:  (Read 4018 times)

Loud Whispers

• Bay Watcher
  • They said we have to aim higher, so we dug deeper.
    • View Profile
    • I APPLAUD YOU SIRRAH
Re: Individual Training Drill? I want them to spar. D:
« Reply #15 on: June 05, 2012, 02:21:38 pm »

Someone recently taught me that you can give multiple orders to a squad for a single month
Holy grail of military micro

Xen0n

• Bay Watcher
  • Took joy in ‼SCIENCE‼ lately.
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: June 05, 2012, 03:26:23 pm »

Someone recently taught me that you can give multiple orders to a squad for a single month
Holy grail of military micro

It is pretty awesome, but I'm still learning some things (e.g. if I give a Defend Burrow (3 minimum), Train (2 minimum), and Patrol Route (5 minimum) orders to the same squad for one month, but there's only 4 dwarves in the squad, how do they choose which order to follow? :P).

One possible point is that, at least in my experience, combined with rumors, supposedly dwarves are more likely to spar if their comabt skills are roughly equal.  When I set up the new 10-dwarf squads, it seems that I get more demonstrations and less sparring than when I meticulously paired up evenly-skilled dwarves.  I'm assuming this is because the pairs don't always choose their partners of equal skill?

Who wants to deal with assigning training weapons either.