Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: LaborJustice: Work Will Set You Free. A Reddit/bay12 Newbie Succession Fortress!  (Read 1635 times)

Fetusfeast

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile

**Introduction**

Hello, I'm a member of Reddit.com's Dwarf Fortress community.

About a week ago I posted an idea for a succession game aimed at newbies. /r/Dwarffortress showed enough interest, and so here we are.

Reddit.com's mechanics make it extremely hard to keep track of years, so we're going to also be maintaining a thread here at Bay12. Bay12 members are more than welcome to join. Below is a copy-paste of the original thread.

I would like to thank everyone who reads and participates in this game. I am a newbie as well, and welcome constructive criticism and feedback. Dwarf Fortress is made great through the community, and I am hoping this helps a lot of people get involved in that community. Everyone is welcome to participate, including experienced players.

LaborJustice is created to be a tool for newbies to learn Dwarf Fortress by experience and to dive head first into the mechanics of a succession game. At the same time it aims at being a challenge for experienced players to keep a fortress drowning in inexperience afloat. Don't worry about making mistakes, or about playing conservatively. I'm a newbie as well, and will make plenty of them I assure you. Remember that we're here to have Fun.

**Rules**

• Losing is  Fun. I will be disappointed if we don't have to reclaim at least once.
    • Creativity is encouraged. - All players are should aim to be creative. This includes megaprojects and created events for the purpose of story telling. for example: ahead and create a magma throne room, above ground fortress, or an doomsday device. Just don't intentionally destroy the fortress.
    • Each turn will be one game year long, starting at spring.