Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Underground irrigation/drainage/control  (Read 1566 times)

Kern

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Underground irrigation/drainage/control
« on: September 12, 2009, 09:59:38 pm »

I built my fortress close to a brook and I have a farm two z-levels underground that I use to irrigate. I've been playing Dwarf Fortress for a couple of months, but this is one of the first times I've tried anything with water OR multiple z-levels.
I set up a simple irrigation system that takes water from a brook using 2 1-tile-wide hallways, 2 floodgates, and a grate to trap fish. The water is moved a few tiles to the east and deposited into a channel that leads to a large underground reservoir.
The farm (and my well) is connected to the resorvoir, but is seperated by floodgates and can be accessed from the level above even when the brook is flowing into the fortress (same with the well). I took lengthy precautions to avoid and minimize flooding.
What I am wondering is:
1. How can I let water in slower, short of blocking one of my 2 inflows?
2. How can I get rid of unwanted water in my resorvoir? Part of the purpose of this construction was to trap fish and I would like for it to be able to run for long periods of time without my fortress flooding. I channeled out a small area on the surface in an attempt to allow for evaporation, but it doesn't seem to work.

Albedo

• Bay Watcher
  • Menacing with spikes of curmudgeonite.
    • View Profile
Re: Underground irrigation/drainage/control
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2009, 10:35:58 pm »

Evaporation only works on depths of 1/7, or in hot climates.

To get rid of water, best bet is to pump it back into the river/brook.

To slow water, try narrowing the access - you were wise in putting in floodgates, so shut them, drain that channel, and put in a wall or two so there's only one diagonal slot for flow.