Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: starting out.  (Read 1198 times)

Queekitch

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
starting out.
« on: September 13, 2009, 12:28:13 pm »

Hello everyone. I'm new to dwarf fortress and, even though I read part of the tutorial,  I have some questions.
1.) what dwarfs and equipment should I start with?
2.) Sometimes, my dwarves just don't follow orders. For instance, in the beginning of the game, I ordered some plants to be gathered. But over a year later, not a single plant has been gathered. Also, I ordered a still to be built, but the dwarfs never seem to do it, despite the fact that there are quite a few idle dwarfs. These seem to be the only orders my dwarfs don't follow for now.
Also, do you guys have some starting tips?

Chewykittens

• Bay Watcher
  • Never befor has the letter "c" been so appetizing
    • View Profile
Re: starting out.
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2009, 12:31:24 pm »

You have to make sure a dwarf has the proper labor to do things. (v-p-l) to see the list for a dwarf. It's pretty much logic as to which lines up with what once you see the list.

Queekitch

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2009, 12:40:36 pm »

I have some dwarfs with plant gathering and carpentry, but they still won't budge.
Oh, nevermind. They're doing it now. Thanks.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2009, 12:44:12 pm by Queekitch »

Albedo

• Bay Watcher
  • Menacing with spikes of curmudgeonite.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2009, 01:24:09 pm »

You will get as many answers as people who post.  It's extremely personal, all depends on your playstyle, what sort of game challenges you enjoy, and your experience.