Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Gypsy werebeasts  (Read 1396 times)

Iamblichos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Gypsy werebeasts
« on: July 25, 2015, 12:43:53 pm »

So... I have started keeping Legend Viewer open with an export of my world while I play.  That way I am able to read the events depicted on my engraved walls, figure out which mobs are coming to visit, and so forth.

The first werebeast that came to my fort was associated with a lair on the other side of a Large Region world... sort of like if I lived in New York and the local criminals left me alone, but I got attacked by someone who had traveled from Brazil to do so.  What the hell?  Do the associations with lairs happen once and mean nothing, or is the creature theoretically supposed to live in/around his "lair"?
I'm new to succession forts in general, yes, but do all forts designed by multiple overseers inevitably degenerate into a body-filled labyrinth of chaos and despair like this? Or is this just a Battlefailed thing?

There isn't much middle ground between killed-by-dragon and never-seen-by-dragon.

Loud Whispers

• Bay Watcher
  • They said we have to aim higher, so we dug deeper.
    • View Profile
    • I APPLAUD YOU SIRRAH
Re: Gypsy werebeasts
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2015, 05:51:35 am »

Entities travel quickly in the world map but I didn't think they traveled that quickly

Iamblichos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2015, 02:42:11 pm »

Yes, I was pretty surprised when I checked out the location where the creature was supposed to live!
I'm new to succession forts in general, yes, but do all forts designed by multiple overseers inevitably degenerate into a body-filled labyrinth of chaos and despair like this? Or is this just a Battlefailed thing?

There isn't much middle ground between killed-by-dragon and never-seen-by-dragon.

Abaddon

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile