Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: DF and Helping  (Read 392 times)

Oranpine

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
DF and Helping
« on: January 27, 2012, 02:03:04 pm »

Hello,

I'm new to Dwarf Fortress and I use the LazyNewbPack along with the Phoebus tileset. I'm looking for someone (none of my friends are interested) to sort of help, or play along with me at the same time on Skype. We can share each others screens and just, learn Dwarf Fortress, etc.. and personally I think this sounds tons of fun and a much better way of learning, I'm more of a visual learner as well. I've probably been playing Dwarf Fortress for about a month and just messing around with things and figuring it out. I would say I'm proficient with/at:

Looking at the map, embarking and visualling knowing what everything on the map is trying to tell me. At least with the Phoebus pack. (I guess I visualize it in my head in 3D).
Farming
very Basic Military
Stockpiles and dumping

I'm not very good, or having even dabbled in:

Magma, or anything do with stonecrafting/flux stone besides the basic Craftsdwarf, Mason.
Advanced Military, schedules, training months, etc.
Animal Training (but it sounds really fun, I'd love to have tons of animal farms!)
Fishing, Hunting, Butcher just because it's confusing and in between these 3 professions there's lots to worry about: Miasma, Running out of Bolts (because I need that wood for beds, never have enough bones, etc), I never see my Fisherdwarf in his Fishery, ever.
Adding roofs to buildings, so I normally try to embark close to mountains.
A whole ton of other things between DF is amazing and very very in-depth but that's why I love it so much.