Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Sea Fortress.  (Read 1251 times)

Jemeni

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Sea Fortress.
« on: January 25, 2012, 01:57:59 pm »

Hello peoples.

I have been playing Dwarf Fortress for about 6-8 months I believe
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

I've always wanted to do something dwarfy enough to be considered a dwarf. So my proposal is to make a fortress in the sea of answers...the magma sea. My plan is to dig to the magma sea and cast obsidian to make it isolated and not connected to the border. Then to drain it(maybe just dump enough water over it to make it complete obsidian?) and then build my fortress there.
Now then I wanted to know if anybody has tried any part of this feat of dwarven engineering and if it is even possible. And if anybody would have any non-!!FUN!! inducing tips/tricks/things that will make it easier or more dwarfy.

The big QCC:
Questions, Comments, Concerns?

nogoodnames

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Sea Fortress.
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2012, 02:03:57 pm »

I've heard that the layer of magma just above the semi-molten rock cannot be turned into obsidian. Other than that it should be absolutely possible provided you have an infinite source of water. Good luck!
Life is, in a word, volcanoes.
                        - Random human lord

Agent_86

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2012, 02:05:28 pm »

I'd say for an extra-dwarfy project you could pump all the magma to the surface so that you don't have any pointy-eared visitors disturbing your endeavor.
When something isn't quite dorfy enough, just add magma.

Jemeni

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2012, 02:08:41 pm »