Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Room Design  (Read 1200 times)

jakr

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Room Design
« on: November 22, 2011, 11:28:10 am »

I am a beginner.  In many video tutorials, I see very intricate room designs.  Why not make one giant room that contains farming, brewing, cooking, carpentry, furnace, forge, etc and the stockpiles for each.  I am talking about like 60x60 room.  This is easier for me, especially soil is being dug so there are no stones to dump.  What are your thoughts?

bucket

• Bay Watcher
  • i am a bucket.
    • View Profile
Re: Room Design
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2011, 11:37:03 am »

It's a very undwarflike idea.

Telgin

• Bay Watcher
  • Professional Programmer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2011, 11:37:59 am »

This will work perfectly fine in game, but there are a few caveats:

First off, most people like for their forts to look nice.  Separate rooms helps that.

Secondly, it's easier for most people to remember exactly what is what and where it is if they're in sectioned off rooms of the fort.

Lastly, this affects the value of some rooms and that can be important.  Especially for things like your dining hall.  Allow me to explain: rooms that you designate from a piece of furniture have a value associated with the "room" that they're in.  This room is just the area that you designate from that piece of furniture.

Say you're building a dining hall.  When you set a table to be a dining room and specify the area around the table, that area is the dining hall.  The bigger it is, the more valuable it is.  Smoothing stone and engraving it makes it more valuable, and having more furniture in the area makes it more valuable.  Having a valuable dining hall is a powerful way to keep dwarves happy.  The same principles apply to the dwarves' bedrooms, and a few other things like offices.