Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Waterfall questions!  (Read 2207 times)

Russell.s

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Waterfall questions!
« on: August 19, 2011, 09:55:26 pm »

Hello everyone!

I'm new to this wonderful game and I've already flooded my fort with magma and water, died to an albino croc and suffered an unfortunate incident involving a lack of booze... we don't talk about that though...

At the moment I'm planning a lovely fort and was wanting to included some waterfalls plummeting down the centre of the 6 main stair wells. At the moment the waterfall will be a cross shape, 3 tiles across, with the stairs at each point of the cross, making a cross that is 5 tiles across. These are all gravity fed from a brook, falling down about 20 z-levels until they reach a cavern.

X is the up/down stair, ~ is the waterfall. This is a top-down view, repeated over many levels. I hope this is clear?

X
    ~
X~~~X
    ~
    X

So here are my questions, oh wise dwarf fort masters:

Is one brook enough to feed 6 waterfalls, or will I need a reservoir above each one and only run them sometimes?
Will the stairs be filled with mist on all levels as I am hoping?
If the water falls the full height, will the water splash out and make the stairs wet, or will it plummet straight down?
And should I have grates on every level to prevent falls, or will that not be a problem?

Thank you in advance for all your help! :)

JoshBrickstien

• Bay Watcher
  • Has the aspect of one fey!
    • View Profile
Re: Waterfall questions!
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 10:19:58 pm »

I can only answer two questions, and those are:

Yes, the brook will be enough, but the problem will be getting the water out fast enough. Use pumps, and a water reactor.
I don't THINK water splashes.
Not sure about mist, or the grates.
Edit: OH GOD, THE LEATHERS ARE MULTIPLYING WHENEVER I SLEEP.

Aeon Blue