Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Looking for an appropriate introductory German novel  (Read 1185 times)

Vector

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Looking for an appropriate introductory German novel
« on: April 27, 2011, 11:45:25 am »

What it says on the tin.

My step-grandmother is dying, and I'm trying to learn her native language before she goes.  So I want some easier, semi-approachable things with a "normal" vocabulary to read as I'm studying this summer, preferably at least moderately age-appropriate and interestingly cultural--i.e. if y'all write fantasy as terribly as the French seem to, I would like it if you recommended something else.

I'm basically hoping for some sort of buffer between "See Spot Run" (or the German equivalent) and Nietzsche, Freud, and Marx.  Please help?
"The question of the usefulness of poetry arises only in periods of its decline, while in periods of its flowering, no one doubts its total uselessness." - Boris Pasternak

nonbinary/genderfluid/genderqueer renegade mathematician and mafia subforum limpet. please avoid quoting me.

pronouns: prefer neutral ones, others are fine. height: 5'3".

Phmcw

• Bay Watcher
  • Damn max 500 characters
    • View Profile
Re: Looking for an appropriate introductory German novel
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2011, 11:57:46 am »

I didn't read them myself but a friend of mine who speak german is quite fond of "Im Westen nichts Neues" and "Drei Kameraden" of Erich Maria Remarque. You should like them too.
Quote from: toady

In bug news, the zombies in a necromancer's tower became suspicious after the necromancer failed to age and he fled into the hills.

ChairmanPoo

• Bay Watcher
  • Send in the clowns
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2011, 12:09:38 pm »