Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Military Start  (Read 821 times)

aaOzymandias

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Military Start
« on: April 16, 2011, 02:28:58 pm »

I am new to DF, but I think I got a fairly decent fort going for a first time game, despite loosing half my population early on due to thirst and no knowledge on how to build wells or farm/brew properly.

Regardless, I not got 70 more or less merry and well fed dwarves, even a few wee little ones. But with my current population I fear a siege or ambush or monster, or digging into something dangerous since I have started to dig deep and just found a very large cavern.

So I created a 6 dwarf squad from a bunch of skilless imigrants and set them all to be marksmen. I set the schedule to train all year. However I am not sure I actually did any good, or did it right at all.

I made some crossbows tho, that I am fairly sure off, but for the rest of the equipemtn I am not sure. I have not found metal yet, so I traded a large deal of leather to try adn make som leather amror for now.

But, how do I set it all up? Is 6 trained dwarfs OK? Should I have a more relaxing schedule? I guess I need to amkea  barracs as well?

I am clueless ;)

eugene

• Bay Watcher
  • careful with that axe
    • View Profile
Re: Military Start
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2011, 04:19:19 pm »

To train marksdwarves you need to build (A)rchery targets and create a (r)ange starting from them. Most efficient is one per marksdwarf. In the menu of the range you need to set the squad to (t)rain.  The (s)quad need to be set to ac(t)ive to follow the training schedule. They might become unhappy after a year or two of continuous training. For training you will need a steady production of bolts, from wood, bone or any weaponizable metal.