Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Good Regions and Flux  (Read 1373 times)

Dekon

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Good Regions and Flux
« on: April 05, 2011, 10:34:15 am »

Was wondering if anyone with more experience with DF can inform me what's going on here..

So I've wanted to settle in a good region for two reasons.  The first is that I've never done it before. The second is that I want to have unicorns to hunt.

But I also want clay, multiple shallow and deep metals, a river, deep soil, and flux.

So I select all those things.. and the site finder shows me sites that it says has these.  But in using the prospector, I find that there's -never- flux.  It's amazing.  I'm beginning to believe flux does not ever, in any fashion, appear in good regions.  I don't know if I'm just getting incredibly unlucky, or if there's a bug in here.  I'm used to getting a marble layer somewhere, but it's looking like marble layers don't appear in good regions.

It could also be that the game is always pointing me towards good temperate shrublands and grasslands - never good forests.  And maybe marble is connected to forests.  I'm rather confused.

PJ

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Re: Good Regions and Flux
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 11:03:51 am »

Indeed, I am also having trouble with the site finder. Went to a region that clearly stated "flux stone" but nothing. :(

Any ideas on how to circumvent that?

Byakugan01

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2011, 11:08:57 am »

How deep did you dig? Marble can be a bit deep.
From Mr. Welch's 1350 things he is not allowed to do in a RPG:
148. There is no Gnomish Deathgrip, and even if there was, it wouldn't involve tongs.
171. My character's dying words are not allowed to be "Hastur, Hastur, Hastur"
218. No matter my alignment, organizing halfling pit fights is a violation.