Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Tell me about game translations in your country  (Read 2800 times)

Jiri Petru

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Tell me about game translations in your country
« on: March 16, 2011, 05:10:21 pm »

Hi,

I know these forums have a large international community, and I'd like to use the fact to ask you bit about how games get translated in your country. I've been translating games professionally to Czech for a couple of years, and right now I'm writing a diploma thesis on Czech game localisation scene. I was thinking it would be nice to have a chapter on "how things look like elsewhere around the world" - nothing fancy, basically just a bonus chapter at the end, because I can't really make a proper research (nor is it in the scope of my thesis). So that's where you come in!

Could you briefly describe how do games get translated into your language? (Globally, most games are translated from either English or Japanese). When I say "briefly", I want to say even a single short paragraph would be very helpful.

1. Professional translations from the publishing companies - what percentage of games get them? Do they have the same release date as the original game?

2. Is there an amateur scene of fans who translate for free? If yes, how big or lively is it? Can you provide a link for a central community hub or something?

(Kudos to Deon who already helped me in PM)

Of course, thanks for your help and time!
Yours,
Markus Cz. Clasplashes

Darvi

• Bay Watcher
  • <Cript> Darvi is my wifi.
    • View Profile
Re: Tell me about game translations in your country
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2011, 05:14:20 pm »

Translations into my language?

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!

No.

Cajoes

• Bay Watcher