Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Reading DF Data While Running  (Read 667 times)

EmperorJon

• Bay Watcher
  • Still waiting...
    • View Profile
Reading DF Data While Running
« on: March 11, 2011, 11:46:15 am »

I was thinking of making a bit of a basic (Pun intended) tool for DF, but I must admit I have no experience in pulling data out of a program whilst it's running. I was just wondering if anyone could give me a bit of a talk through, or something... it doesn't have to be doing it constantly, simply by an update button... but never dealt with checking if a program instance is running, and then reading data it's using before.

Thanks in advance, even if no help is forcoming. :P
I think it's the way towns develop now. In the beginning, people move into a town. Then they start producing tables, which results in more and more tables. Soon tables represent a significant portion of the population, they start lobbying for new laws and regulations, putting people to greater and greater disadvantage...
Link for full quote. 'tis mighty funny.

Grimlocke

• Bay Watcher
  • *kobold noises*
    • View Profile
Re: Reading DF Data While Running
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 12:13:24 pm »

Im clueless about programming in general, but I know DFhack can serve as a base for a utility. It would also save you most the trouble of updating for newer DF versions.
I make Grimlocke's History & Realism Mods. Its got poleaxes, sturdy joints and bloomeries. Now compatible with DF Revised!

EmperorJon

• Bay Watcher
  • Still waiting...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2011, 12:22:50 pm »

Yeah, I'm thinking of something more DTherapist, but for a different use. I just have no idea what that was made in, or any idea on reading information about a program instance anyway.