Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: impatient hungry dwarves help  (Read 1415 times)

Lyam84

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
impatient hungry dwarves help
« on: March 06, 2011, 10:44:39 pm »

I'm new to the game don't quite get farming yet. I create the farms, i irrigate them, I set up custom stockpiles with only seeds (i have 200 plump helmet spawn), and only raw plants nearby, but my farmers plant about a 1/4 of my 5X6 field and then never harvest. Why don't they put seeds in the stock piles beyond one or two barrels? why don't they plant the whole plot? And why is the only time something is harvested is when/by a hungry dwarf?

Lagslayer

• Bay Watcher
  • stand-up philosopher
    • View Profile
Re: impatient hungry dwarves help
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2011, 10:50:01 pm »

Do you have a food stockpile? Do you have enough barrels? Is part of the farm plot above ground or on dry rock? Do your farmers not like working?

Lyam84

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2011, 11:18:03 pm »

I have two custom stockpiles, one set for seeds only, one set for plants only, both only get filled to two spaces out of 12, with rest remaining empty, all the while i can see seed laying about and plants witherinng in the fields.
I'm pretty sure I have plenty of barrels, but I'll try making more.
Yes, my Urist McLazybeards standing around not working for no reason it seems

agatharchides

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2011, 12:13:18 am »