Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: laptop settings  (Read 1165 times)

gabandre

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
laptop settings
« on: February 23, 2011, 12:54:31 pm »

hello, im new to dwarf fortress and to the forums
i have a laptop computer and i cant configure DF to work
the first problem is graphical, i cant get the game window to fit in the screen and sometimes it is only on the upper half of the screen. this happened after i tryed changing the init.txt

this is my init:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

the second problem is whit the keyboard as it doesnt have the numpad so the "+-*/" dont work so i cant use the custom embark or navigate the menus

BigD145

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: laptop settings
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2011, 01:04:03 pm »

Yes, your laptop probably does have a numpad if you have a function button.

[WINDOWED:NO]   <--you may want to change the FULLSCREENX/Y to something larger

gabandre

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2011, 01:11:19 pm »

and it doesnt run on fullscreen, it says: mode switch failed/running in windowed mode

Bobinater

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2011, 05:25:21 pm »

I used to have the fullscreen mode problem myself with that exact same message but I sadly don't remember how I fixed it.

However as for your + and - problem the + and minus keys on the top right of your computer should work fine, however + is mapped on the same key as = so you have to hold shift first, this can get annoying so I recommend going to the key bindings in the Esc menu and changing 'move secondary curser up' from + to =.  If you have any other key troubles you can remap them in the key binding window.