Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Legacy of a Warlord  (Read 8147 times)

lagging savant

• Bay Watcher
  • Escaped Lunatic ... bah. I was never caught.
    • View Profile
Legacy of a Warlord
« on: January 14, 2011, 03:34:12 pm »

Little project i've been working on for a few months. It is in it's alpha state right now.

The goals of the project is to be a rogue like, procedurally generated, extreme modability with the capability of having MASSIVE battles. This weekend should be a decent release, I just updated the movement code and had a large battle between 350+ troops and 4,000 rats. Story on the blog: http://willraman.tumblr.com/

Also took down a dragon last night and fraps it. Need to squish that raw footage though. Also kind of boring with the effects/lighting engine offline for now (don't want to be held accountable for an epileptic episode).

Since this is alpha I haven't fully completed some portions, like effects, character generation and screen sizing. That being said the only way you'd know your attacking is watching the battle logs and screen sizing is handled by using a larger or smaller font, kind of like what dwarf fortress does.

If this sounds interesting, feel free to stop by my site, http://www.legacyofawarlord.com/ or the blog or forums.

Cheese

• Bay Watcher
  • 99% Dairy
    • View Profile
Re: Legacy of a Warlord
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2011, 03:47:28 pm »

Looks interesting. I'd try and get 10+ posts before waving your stuff around though.

kulik

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2011, 03:47:42 pm »

Roguelike "massive battles"? Oh, colored me interested.  :)

Cthulhu

• Bay Watcher
  • A squid
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2011, 03:50:26 pm »

It sounds cool, but like Cheese said people here tend to ruin your thread if you link projects before getting Baywatcher.
Shoes...

Cheese