Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Oh, the heavenly ASCII  (Read 5287 times)

Rubtazar

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Oh, the heavenly ASCII
« on: January 02, 2011, 08:12:07 am »

Soup, up until now I've been playing with a tile set. Some strange mood got me to try ye' olde vanilla graphics, and oh boy is it awesome. I don't know why i didn't do this ages ago.. looking at the screen and everything just seems like it belongs to it's place (except occasional elf not in my refuse stockpile)

Just wanting to know how many people still play with tileset?

And not to make this post completely useless, how do i make my babies age faster?

btbtbtbt

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Oh, the heavenly ASCII
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 08:42:34 am »

The ASCII graphics are nice and clean, aren't they? I've personally never strayed from them since I started playing in 2D.

You can change the rate at which your dwarven children age by playing with the raw files in the data folder, although I haven't done much of that since version 40d, and even then not much modding really. I think you need to go into the file "creature_standard.txt" in the raws under both the data folder and your save folder and change the numbers under the tags [BABY:1] and [CHILD:12] under [CREATURE:DWARF] to something smaller, the numbers represent years until your dwarf changes from being a baby to a child, then from being a child to an adult from memory.

juanito89

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2011, 03:16:00 pm »

I use the Phoebus tileset, and have never tried playing the game in ASCII. I've seen videos of it, though, and in my opinion the tilesets make the better look better.

Cruxador

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2011, 03:33:58 pm »