Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: make militia go back to civ jobs for a while  (Read 823 times)

catphive

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
make militia go back to civ jobs for a while
« on: December 25, 2010, 11:29:29 pm »

Thanks for your help, I'm new to dwarf fortress.

I recently created a militia squad, and added my carpenter to it. I noticed he never takes a break from training to go back to work as a carpenter. I need him to make some stuff with his carpentry skill, so I tried deactivating the entire squad. Instead of training in a group, he just sits in the barracks doing individual training. I even turned training off for the barracks, and he won't leave and go back to work.

How do you force militia to go back to their civilian jobs for a while?

twilightdusk

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: make militia go back to civ jobs for a while
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2010, 11:32:26 pm »

try removing him from the squad
A man would see that as a difficult challenge.
An elf would see that and despair.
A dwarf would see that and say, "Bring it on."

ext0l

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2010, 12:01:56 am »

He will automatically stop doing individual training if he has other civilian things to do, like carpentry. It may take a while however, for him to finish individual training.

nil

• Bay Watcher
  • whoa
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2010, 12:06:05 am »

Try (f)reeing the armor stand or whatever piece of furniture from which the barracks is designated.

martinuzz

• Bay Watcher
  • High dwarf
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2010, 07:21:20 am »

I never designate barracks.
All my civilian dwarves are in military squads (5 dwarves per squad)
That way, you can arm and outfit *all* your dwarves, except miners and woodcutters.