Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Bedrooms.  (Read 712 times)

Fortune

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Bedrooms.
« on: December 20, 2010, 01:05:40 am »

Hiya, newbie here...

The wiki article on bedrooms has got me kind of confused, or at least the picture in the article. Basically, my main question is: Do dwarfs mind if other dwarfs walk through their bedroom? I'd like to set up my sleeping-cluster like so, but am unsure if it'll cause any problems:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

And do I need doors, or are open tunnels fine?

Jacob/Lee

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Bedrooms.
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2010, 01:08:24 am »

Dwarves don't mind if others walk through their rooms, but if you want to contain the room designator doors are needed.

Fortune

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2010, 01:28:30 am »

Alrighty, thanks a bunch.

Bognor

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2010, 01:38:08 am »

A minor point, but having the rooms as "open" as that (not fully enclosed by walls) may reduce their value somewhat.  See http://df.magmawiki.com/index.php/40d_Talk:Room#The_fine_art_of_dwarven_room_appraisal, which referred to an older version of Dwarf Fortress, but I'd imagine the principle would still hold.

Davichococat

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2010, 08:43:45 am »

A minor point, but having the rooms as "open" as that (not fully enclosed by walls) may reduce their value somewhat.  See http://df.magmawiki.com/index.php/40d_Talk:Room#The_fine_art_of_dwarven_room_appraisal, which referred to an older version of Dwarf Fortress, but I'd imagine the principle would still hold.