Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: NEWBY NEWB NOOB designs  (Read 5482 times)

JonathanHolt75

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
NEWBY NEWB NOOB designs
« on: December 03, 2010, 01:07:33 am »

hello everyone i am new to the world of DF and just learned how to make wells, that pretty much sums up my skills. i have been watching some tutorials and reading up. im was wondering if anyones got any simple modular designs for me to emulate. any help and tips are welcome.

abadidea

• Bay Watcher
  • [IS_8BIT_PROGRAMMER]
    • View Profile
    • 0xabad1dea
Re: NEWBY NEWB NOOB designs
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2010, 01:24:16 am »

My advice to you is to remember to think three-dimensionally when planning out your forts, because going up or down the stairs counts as one step. You can dramatically increase efficiency by stacking rooms on different floors rather than laying them all out on the same level.
ABadIdea likes bandfire opal, black opal, claro opal, crystal opal, fire opal, harlequin opal, jelly opal, levin opal, pinfire opal, precious fire opal, red flash opal, white opal, and microcline for its vibrant hue.

glory in the thunder, resplendent in the sky <-- I wrote a whole novel. There will be more.

Ovg

• Bay Watcher
  • ♥ Pretty Princess ♥
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2010, 01:25:31 am »

I would say the best way for you would be to plan them out yourself, so you can have fun while learning and having !Fun!.

Or you could use
http://nthproductions.com/webfort/webfort.html - webfort to plan your fortress out
http://sun2design.com/quickfort/ - quickfort to dig it out

JonathanHolt75

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2010, 02:10:23 am »