Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: "Computer Expert" with a broken computer! (*GASP* Update!)  (Read 3223 times)

Fayrik

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
"Computer Expert" with a broken computer! (*GASP* Update!)
« on: October 31, 2010, 06:06:58 pm »

Okay, maybe I'm not an expert, but, at least, I know my stuff.
..But I'm hoping either someone here knows more than me (probably! :P), or, at least find something I missed.

So, I spent £550 (GBP) or so on a new computer at the begining of the year.
By febuary, the graphics card blew up. Thankfully, it was within a month, so the people I baught it from replaced it. Since then, the graphics card has been fine. The rest of the computer however, seems a little iffy.

If Windows is to be believed, I've had three consecutive RAM failures, which have caused some pretty interesting problems in Windows, meaning I've had to reinstall four times now.

Yet, this time around, Windows just will not reinstall.
It's currently telling me that the installation disk is corrupt - yet I think it's either the Hard Drive I'm installing to.. But, yet I also think it's possible that if the RAM is broken, that could be corrupting the data as it's getting coppied.

*sigh*
Long story short: I can't work out quite what the problem is!

And, because I know it's gunna be needed, here are the components to the aformentioned computer.

New stuff in the £550 pack:
MB:   ASUS M4A77TD PRO
CPU:  AMD Phenom II X4 925 Processor (2.8GHz "True Quad-Core Design"?)
RAM:  OCZ DDR3 1066MHz 2GB (Four Sticks/Two Packs)
RAM: OCZ DDR3 PC3-10666 133MHz 2GB (Four Sticks/Two Packs)
GFX:  Zotac GT220 Synergy Ed 1GB 128bit DDR2

Old Stuff, from my prevous comptuer that I knew was working before hand:
PSU:  Antec Earthwatts 430W
HDD:  Seagat Barracuda 7200 (160GB)
The Case: seriously, I can't tell you the model name of that, even if I did try.