Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New Fan: First Question  (Read 2239 times)

MorbidMorvick

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
New Fan: First Question
« on: October 30, 2010, 12:36:53 pm »

I have just started playing Dwarf Fortress a couple days ago, and after being a strategy game fan for many years since I started playing computer games, I must say I fell in love. I just wanted to post and say hello to the community and plan on helping with the wiki and detailing my personal experience in trying to find figure everything out. I have already started posting some of my findings and road bumps on my wiki user profile page, I hope that this will help newbies like myself to get started.

Since the game has so much detail I also hope to provide detail into my fortress and my dwarves, plans and experiences. I am still not quiet sure about the planning that goes into starting a game and hope also to explore that. One of my first questions would be about the massive amount of stone I have so far, and is there a way to dig a mining shaft so that I can mechanically remove the stone that is taking up all the space in my newly dug workshop area. But that is only one of the many problems I already face. I have had a huge amount of migrants in my first few days of playing, I am still farming outside and am trying to get a handle on all the dwarves I am now able to task.

There is a lack of miners in my fortress and I have already figured out how to solve that but am still researching different strategies and advice you can give on these things would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to getting involved with the community. My last thought is Dwarf Fortress "Where have you been all my life?"

Demonic Spoon

• Bay Watcher
  • Peering from beyond the veil of reality
    • View Profile
Re: New Fan: First Question
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 12:58:20 pm »