Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Issues with channels and flooding  (Read 1201 times)

Chthon

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Issues with channels and flooding
« on: November 12, 2006, 07:37:00 am »

Ok, I'm still pretty new at this, and my first attempt at farming I produces some absurdly noobish results:

I had piped some water up from the outside river (this I now know is a bug in itself but oh well) and accidentally lost containment on my farm when my dwarf looking to throw the switch decided to enter the flooded room to get to it.  Now, the rooms door was not connected directly into my main fortress so suddenly it flooded ALL OF THE OUTSIDE!!  Seriously, some limit should be made on a channel's ability to flood, seriously.  I mean if the river had that much water in it, wouldn't it have already flooded everything around?

The end result was 5 of my dwarves who were outside drowned, 1 remained happily making barrels in an enclosed part of my fortress, and other let water into the rest of my fortress drowning himself.  This was a permanent flood due to the fact that the flood reached the river again, and made the whole terrain unsuitable for dwarf life.  Go ahead, laugh at me, at the time I didn't know I could lock doors (didn't even realize they count as rooms)

Also, I would like to see in the future the ability to train dwarves in swimming maybe, or at the least give them safety floats that they can wear around their arms.

''d be perfect if I weren''t so arrogant.

w

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • http://www.whitehouse.gov/president/
Re: Issues with channels and flooding
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2006, 11:02:00 am »

quote:
Originally posted by Chthon:
<STRONG>I had piped some water up from the outside river (this I now know is a bug in itself but oh well)</STRONG>

I don't see why it's a bug.