Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Modding - Getting At The Code  (Read 924 times)

FinalSin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Modding - Getting At The Code
« on: August 05, 2010, 07:16:41 am »

Hello,

I'm new to this modding lark for DF. I've noticed by prodding the tutorials that exist that by 'modding', people mostly mean adding extra content, renaming races and whatnot.

I'm looking at more fundamental stuff (for instance, logging certain events when they occur in-game) which I think would require more low-level access. Is this possible at all? I'm guessing that DF is not open-source, but how deep can you get into the game's inner workings?

Jerkald

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • Pixel Polish Games
Re: Modding - Getting At The Code
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2010, 08:24:58 am »

Ya, its not open source but there have been alternate approaches at getting at the game data.  I'm not an expert on any of this, but I know that you can use DF HACK to get at the memory.  Its used in some of the popular tools out but I don't know if it will give you access to what you're looking for.

http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?topic=58809.0

devek

• Bay Watcher
  • [KILL_EVERYTHING]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2010, 12:02:30 pm »

It is all on a case by case basis, tell us what you are trying to do and we might know how to do it.
"Why do people rebuild things that they know are going to be destroyed? Why do people cling to life when they know they can't live forever?"

0x517A5D

• Bay Watcher
  • Hex Editor‬‬
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2010, 02:20:38 pm »

Hard.  An advanced project, not for someone getting started.