Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: I need help organizing!  (Read 575 times)

gramks2k

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
I need help organizing!
« on: July 30, 2010, 12:25:01 pm »

Using v0.31.12 with a graphics package pre-installed (other than that no modding or anything). I'm a total newbie, but I've gotten through 3 or 4 preliminary forts and I'm getting the hang of it, except...

I've dug out a storage area +1 level above my workshops with access, everything is set up with the stockpiles, etc. But when my miner dug out the area it left a bunch of rocks there (as per normal, duh). This wouldn't be an issue except that it blocks about 90% of the area to put my goods, food, wood, and all that. I'd like to just make one of the rooms for storing the rocks, which I have been using but not fast enough. How can I get them out of one store room and into another compact space?

tl;dr How, exactly, should I go about getting the gabbro rocks and garnierite ore out of my stockpile areas? And how, exactly, do I set up containers for things other than food barrels (which seem to be automatic)?

ledgekindred

• Bay Watcher
  • Oh Boy, Microcline
    • View Profile
Re: I need help organizing!
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 12:30:23 pm »

simplest way for getting rid of rock: make a 1-tile garbage dump.  i-define zone-g to set to garbage dump.  Then mass-select the rocks for dumping - d-b-d, select all rocks, hit enter.  Your dwarves will then get busy moving all the rocks to the garbage dump tile.  It can hold an infinite amount of dumped items (so-called "quantum garbage dump.").  You don't have to worry about losing that rock permanently, you can later mass-reclaim everything on the dump the same way you dumped it - d-b and the default option is "reclaim."  (Otherwise I think it's d-b-c)  Then highlight over the garbage dump tile and it will un-forbid everything in the dump tile.