Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A personal project  (Read 944 times)

MegaRose

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
A personal project
« on: June 17, 2010, 10:28:58 pm »

Hello!  I'm a complete and utter newbie at Dwarf Fortress and I've noticed something about the way I play it.  I do pretty well starting out, building up a big crafting industry and trading for all the essentials I need (I tend to run out of alcohol but whatever), but I've never been able to stand up to the goblin sieges.  I guess I'm just not good at the military aspect.  So I've decided that I want to take that out.  I've been looking over the wiki and editing raws doesn't look...completely inaccessible, even though I've never done anything like that before.  So I would like to learn to tinker around with the game and form something that leans more towards industry.

My main goal is to get rid of snatchers/assaults/sieges/war entirely.  I don't mind hostile wildlife (not sure how to feel about forgotten beasts) but the goblins are total butts.

Secondary goals:
-Create new civilizations or edit existing ones and make them all traders with different likes and dislikes (like the elves and wood thing).
-Make all the animals tameable and trainable, and maybe add more animals.
-Make more craftable items with complex material requirements