Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Egg Births?  (Read 1513 times)

Huggz

• Bay Watcher
  • Sherlock Wayne
    • View Profile
Egg Births?
« on: June 17, 2010, 06:01:04 am »

Hey,
I am not very good with modding and stuff, but I was wondering, animaals have to be live births but could you have an 'egg stage' where it couldn't move, attack etc? Is there a limit to the amount of stages in an animal's life?
Huggz
Proper English will make people take you more serious.
In order to improve the universe's frame rate, we must all throw rocks into volcanoes and then do absolutely nothing, worldwide, for a week, to take pressure off pathfinding.

Praetyre

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Egg Births?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2010, 06:24:45 am »

I don't think eggs are implemented yet, which, I suspect, is why chickens are not among Dwarf Fortress' current bestiary.

Josephus

• Bay Watcher
  • The Immortal Historian
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2010, 06:27:54 am »

I don't think eggs are implemented yet, which, I suspect, is why chickens are not among Dwarf Fortress' current bestiary.

He's asking if it's possible to have an egg stage; essentially replacing the baby stage of most things.

I'm pretty sure it's possible to make the baby-stage creature immobile, though it will still attack (via the default "push" attack) if it encounters an enemy.
Solar Rangers: Suggestion Game in SPAAAAACE
RPG Interest Check Thread
i had the elves bring me two tigermen, although i forgot to let them out of the cage and they died : ( i was sad : (

Shaostoul

• Bay Watcher
  • Expanding your universe.
    • View Profile
    • Shaostoul Patreon
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2010, 02:18:10 pm »

I don't think that's moddable as of yet. Through all the mods I've seen and other discussion of "egg like births" if you mod the baby, you mod the adult creature as well.