Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: [Newbie] Seal water spillage?!  (Read 643 times)

Deathcrow

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
[Newbie] Seal water spillage?!
« on: June 11, 2010, 06:50:26 pm »

Okeee, i started playing DF, but i guess i kinda suck ;)

I had the "genius" *cough* idea to get water for irrigation (for farms) from underwater river. Luckily the floodgate i set in place is holding, buuuut of course the room that was supposed to become my farm is now completely flooded (7's all around).

Is there a way to throw something - from above ground - into the channel to close it and then maybe drain the water? I'd call it Operation "Top Kill" (too subtle? ^^).

Or is this area of my fortress now kinda damned forever?
« Last Edit: June 11, 2010, 06:52:28 pm by Deathcrow »

Eidako

• Bay Watcher
  • Snow White cancels Sleep: Attending Party
    • View Profile
Re: [Newbie] Seal water spillage?!
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2010, 07:35:34 pm »

Can't you close the channel with your floodgate?

I'm guessing that you did this one z-level below ground? If so, you can quickly drain it with a screwpump. Have your carpenter make a corkscrew, pipe, and either your carpenter or mason make a block, give someone the architecture labor, build the pump directly above the flooded room, channel out the square at the passable light green end of the pump, then give someone the pumping labor and activate manually. They'll pump it out in no time; since it's outside and there's plenty of space, there's no danger from the water running on the surface, provided you don't do this right next to your main stairs.

edit: clarification on where to channel
_XX.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2010, 08:25:35 pm by Eidako »

K4el

• Bay Watcher
  • [BORED][AT_WORK]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2010, 07:53:49 pm »

Okeee, i started playing DF, but i guess i kinda suck ;)