Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Hello everyone! New to DF  (Read 2263 times)

TDSS02

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Hello everyone! New to DF
« on: June 03, 2010, 02:45:49 am »

Hello everyone brand new to DF and have to say its AMAZING, most fun i have had playing a game in a while. I heard the name Toady One and i am guessing he is the designer? Well all i can say is AMAZING JOB my friend truly an awesome game. Definitely planning on donating $50-$100 in the near future so the game can continue progressing. Now you have to pardon my ignorance but i am brand new to DF only been playing it for a few days and i am confused about the different versions. Could someone take the time to explain it to me please. For instance what is 40d? And what is DF2010? Are there any other versions? Whats different? I'm currently playing version 31.03 with Phoebus 1.7.3 graphics pack, is there a better version?

Thanks everyone!
Quote from: piecewise on March 14, 2010, 06:22:02 am
  Dwarf Fortress: Beat children with children.

sadis

• Bay Watcher
  • This is Personal Text, please don't use it.
    • View Profile
Re: Hello everyone! New to DF
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2010, 03:38:24 am »

DF2010 was used to refer to 31.XX before version number was known, eq. before it was out. 40D is the culmination of previous bigger update + bugfixes. 40DXX is the same, but with improved graphics code by Baughn.

Better version is pretty relative. Some like to still play 40D(XX), because it's (currently) less bug-ridden. Some play 31.03 for new features and working graphics mode. Some play 31.04, which uses Baughns improvements to graphics code and has some bugfixes compared to 31.03, but does not support graphics mode and has some other anomalies.

kcwong

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2010, 03:57:33 am »