Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Moon hoax people  (Read 3506 times)

ililiilliillliii

• Bay Watcher
  • God bless you, astronaut cat
    • View Profile
Moon hoax people
« on: May 28, 2010, 04:40:36 am »

Hi guys,

I saw an artifact-quality video recently (http://www.petapixel.com/2010/04/26/apollo-11-launch-at-500-frames-per-second/) and my enjoyment of it was mildly lessened by all these people who think the moon landing was faked.  I'm an aerospace engineering grad student and I also work part time at NASA, so this kind of hits close to home for me.

Why do surprisingly many people insist it was faked?  It seems like it's basically rooted in a deep mistrust of the government that was maybe warranted in the 60's (what with the CIA testing drugs on unwitting subjects, the environment of the cold war and all) but has stuck around and stayed fashionable until today.  There's this general distrust of science as well, although everyone is eagerly willing to take everything we get from it for granted.  These, combined with the rather specialized knowledge involved in going around in space seems to make Apollo a magnet for conspiracy theories.