Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Yet Another Startup Discussion  (Read 1735 times)

Bronze Dog

• Bay Watcher
  • Kobold Sympathizer
    • View Profile
Yet Another Startup Discussion
« on: May 21, 2010, 04:58:00 pm »

Version: The new May release.

I'm still a newbie at DF, trying to figure out a starting strategy. I've got some Mega Construction dreams that involve clear glass and some aqueducts. I thought I'd get some input on the different phases of growing my fortress.

1. Location, location, location: Since I'm planning on making a lot of clear glass to build a giant hourglass, obviously I'm going to need sand and a steady supply of wood for pearlash. For the aqueducts, I'm going to need a river to supply the water. A desert would go well with the hourglass theme, but the need for wood if I want to make a clear glass one suggests a place with plenty of trees. Any suggestions on what else to look out for?

2. Starting skills: Which skills are the most vital for the starting 7? I've heard it's important to start out with a doctor, since it's hard to train one up unless you're lucky enough to get a migrant with medical talent. Some friends suggested that I don't split miners into other roles, since, as I've noticed in the games I've played so far, mining takes up a LOT of time.

3. Embarking supplies: I don't have much specific in mind, though some suggestions on priorities would be nice. I think I might risk doing without the anvil.

4. Starting construction: I'm always uncertain about what buildings and rooms I need first, how much farmland to make, how to build with expansion in mind, etcetera.