Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: An introductory expedition, Ozsitethbesh (Crabcackle)!  (Read 3431 times)

Pterodactyl

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
An introductory expedition, Ozsitethbesh (Crabcackle)!
« on: May 18, 2010, 02:28:16 pm »

Hello hello! As anyone might notice, I'm new here. I'm new to Dwarf Fortress, as well. I dare ask for to be given a chance before being dismissed as an uninteresting peasant. I've spent many many hours over the past few days playing and rummaging through the Wiki, and although I've yet to experience any true "Fun" in Fortress Mode, I hope to remedy that NOW.

I've been through at least 8 fortresses already, abandoned due to dislike of design on my part upon learning new and cool things that I could have (or should have) done. This time, I wish to stay committed (and I feel that I'm ready enough) for hopefully a long term "Fun" filled effort. So, in light of this, I've chosen to embark on Terrifying (well, I think half three-fourths of it may be Untamed, but close enough) soil!

I may ask questions, newb questions, and all I ask is for a tiny bit of guidance on these occasions. In every case though, I'll always try to figure things out on my own, but for once I think I'd like to be able to seek aid. I'm at least confident that I'll provide some form of amusement for you scary veterans.

I'll accept dwarf naming requests, because the idea of doing so is awesome. I've already named three of seven.

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

So, here's what we've got to start (nothing yet!):

All that aside, I read through the Deepspark thread and loved it and I can only hope my tale becomes at least a fraction of the amusing awesomeness that it is.

Forgive me for any novice mistakes! Now then, time to strike the earth!

Demonic Spoon

• Bay Watcher
  • Peering from beyond the veil of reality
    • View Profile