Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Animals in the dining room  (Read 1267 times)

HecticHippo

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Animals in the dining room
« on: April 29, 2010, 12:28:58 am »

Hi I'm new to this game so forgive me if this is a stupid question >?>
Anyways, I can't seem to get my animals to go into my animal stockpile. All they do is run around in my dining room (which I have set as my meeting hall as well). How do I go about getting the animals to behave?

Grumman

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Animals in the dining room
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 12:35:37 am »

The animal stockpile is used for animals in cages. If you want your animals to behave, you can put them in cages, tie them up to restraints or pit them. To pit them, dig a two story room with doors on both levels, and designate a pit zone over the open space. Lock the bottom door, and pit animals to make them stay in the bottom room.

Side-on, you want the room to look like this:
Code: [Select]
######
#  _D_
#___D_
######

HecticHippo

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 12:39:20 am »

Ok thank you! I'll try this.

soup_alex

• Bay Watcher
  • Immune to Psychology
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2010, 06:57:18 am »

If you're not caging animals or throwing them into a pit, "tightly-closed" doors are a simple, if ultimately unreliable alternative. Also, it may be worth bearing in mind that animals, like dwarves, are attracted to areas and zones designated as some sort of meeting or congregation area, and unlike dwarves, they obey the inverse of any traffic control designations (so if you make the tables in your dining hall low- or restricted-traffic, most of the stray cows, mules, horses, dogs, etc. in the fortress will immediately go there and clamber all over your tastefully-arranged furniture).
Quote from: Jackrabbit