Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Several NOOB questions about DF  (Read 2367 times)

bloodslave1087654

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Several NOOB questions about DF
« on: April 21, 2010, 01:27:43 am »

Hi DF newbie here. I discovered DF about 2 weeks ago, and have found many tutorials to help me play it since then. However one thing still eludes me and that is irrigation. My dwarves keep starving to death because i cant get farms up and running inside my mountains, and when the raiders come i lose. So i ask the forum, HOW DOES I IRRIGATE!?!?!!?!??!?!!?!?
Also i understand that it is rather difficult to avoid starting in a dangerous place in DF or i have REALLY shit-luck. My first attempt at a fortress was undone by those masters of genocide, otherwise know as carps, completely killing off my party of dwarves when they tried to drink from the rather conveniently placed river. Attempt #2 they somehow unearthed demons at ground level and were all killed. And attempt #3 they were burned to death by a dragon. So i ask the forum, Is this a common thing or do i have garbage luck?

strider_ani

• Bay Watcher
  • Mine till there's nothing left!
    • View Profile
Re: Several NOOB questions about DF
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2010, 01:33:38 am »

Heh, my first few goes were devoid of any danger whatsoever so In this case I envy you for all the fun your having.

To irrigate you need to muddy the area you place you plot by letting water get to it.
I tend to build a flood gate at one end underground connected to the river and then build a door on the other side of the growing room and then lock the door and open the gate for a bit and then turn off the switch once the room is full of water and unlocking the door so my dorfs can plant there.
~The new kid on the block~

bloodslave1087654

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2010, 01:49:31 am »