Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Fantasy Flavor mod [Release 7 - Trees]  (Read 13065 times)

FACM

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Fantasy Flavor mod [Release 7 - Trees]
« on: April 06, 2010, 08:54:57 pm »

Fantasy Flavor - A mostly subtle mod.

Apparently, Civilization Forge 2 encompasses a lot of what I was planning, and has more or less outclassed this mod in a way that I won't likely catch up with. Go install that instead.

Release 7 now available - http://drop.io/FantasyFlavorDF/asset/fantasyflavor7-zip

Release 7 adds in 3 new colored trees. If you want your cobalt-loving noble's bed to match his cobalt room, now you can!

All cumulative changes are detailed here:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

I've been playing Dwarf Fortress for a couple years now, and I sometimes wonder how much more could be done with the engine. Clearly, a lot of people feel this way too, looking at all of the other mods, especially some of the new ones for .31.01. I've tried a couple of them, and my usual feeling is that a lot of the other mods don't fit what I want to play. Some add things that I don't think fit in this type of fantasy world, and some make drastic changes to the existing game.

My goal with Fantasy Flavor is to make a mod that take the Dwarf Fortress world, and adds a bit more of the fantastic into it, without going (too) overboard. I know that there are other that would like to see this too, and I'm plenty open to suggestions on what to add or change.

I have some ideas in mind, and I'll run most suggestions through them to make sure they fit. Really awesome ideas can get exceptions, but for the most part suggestions will need to match.

My major design goals for FF are: