Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Cloth walls, doors, and beds?  (Read 884 times)

The Mad Engineer

• Bay Watcher
  • Tock.
    • View Profile
Cloth walls, doors, and beds?
« on: February 22, 2010, 01:40:52 pm »

Hi, I'm new to the whole modding scene, only doing some aesthetic changes here and there.  For one of my fortresses, I was thinking about making a big circus tent.  My question is, is it possible to mod cloth in order to use it as a construction material, or even as a bed (sleeping bag)?  That would make tents and other such things possible, and give cloth a bigger role in game.  Will it require a smelter reaction to create a "cloth block"?

sunshaker

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Cloth walls, doors, and beds?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2010, 02:06:25 pm »

The Bed would be something like

Code: [Select]
[REACTION:BED_CLOTH]
[NAME:make cloth bedding]
[SMELTER]
[REAGENT:2:CLOTH:NO_SUBTYPE:PLANT:NO_MATGLOSS]
[PRODUCT:100:1:BED:NO_SUBTYPE:CLOTH:GRASS_TAIL_PIG]

In order to make it a construction material you would use BLOCKS or STONE in place of BED.

Caution my Syntax has been known to be off.

NecroRebel

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2010, 02:07:56 pm »

You can indeed make cloth beds with no problems. Doors and walls I'm not so sure about, however. I was trying to make leather doors and walls at one point, and while it worked fine, the leather's name didn't show up on the blocks or doors while they weren't built, so in the stocks menu and build designation menu they would show up as " door" or " block." Once built, however, they worked fine, and did inherit the leather's value modifier and weight.