Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: The DF Geneology Project  (Read 936 times)

piecewise

• Bay Watcher
  • [TORTURE_FOR_FUN]
    • View Profile
    • Stuff
The DF Geneology Project
« on: February 04, 2010, 10:34:01 pm »

I'm a scientist at heart, someone who loves to pick apart the workings of things in order to better understand them. However I am also a lover of great stories and one who can easily find them within even the most unassuming places. These two things have driven me to begin a project which is ambitious to say the least, I will attempt to map and catalog the genealogy and history of one family within DF, from World Gen till the end of their line. To give you an idea of what this looks like, this is my family tree with only two generations.
Spoiler (click to show/hide)
If you want to actually read it, you'll need to download it and zoom in.

Now, rather then ramble on aimlessly about my goals for this project, I figure it's better to address questions you may have and explain myself like that.

What is the Purpose of this project?
Simply put, the purpose of the project is to gain a better understanding and respect for the complexity of Dwarf Fortress interactions and history. Few of us can truly grasp the sheer size and complexity of interactions which happen within the world generation and this project is a way to visualize these rather abstract ideas. Beyond this it could be somewhat of a bragging point for the df community, an example of the complexity of the game and a potential draw to new players.

What are the goals of the project?