Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Oil  (Read 4244 times)

El-Ravager

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Oil
« on: January 25, 2010, 11:25:06 am »

How about adding oil to the game as a underground resource? Oil could have many uses:

-It could be a coal substitute (I am no expert in metalurgy so if thats unrealistic cut it ^^ )
-it could be used in traps that make fires
-flasks of burning oil!
-it could make cloth, items and so forth in alchemy labs
-tar blocks could be created as a byproduct of alchemy, to be used in road-building
-it would create poisoned tiles where it seeped (=evaporated) into soil. Nothing would grow there again.
-add a kind of dirt to creatures that makes them burn faster and hotter
-create lots of smoke while burning to obscure vision
-flames from burning oil could be higher then 1 Z level, making interesting traps possible

The stuff could be transported in barrels or vials and it would be available in pools or pipes (representing small and large oil fields. I am sure there are more possibilities, but I have little time to brainstorm because I am at work ^^

mendonca

• Bay Watcher
  • [CLIVE]
    • View Profile
Re: Oil
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 11:46:04 am »

This is an Acrylonitrile Butadiene Styrene cabinet. On it is an image of dwarves in PolyMethyl Methacrylate. The Dwarves are cross-linking PolyEthylene.

Oil-related disasters through the fort would be fun, Would you know if the last tile you were about to dig out had an oil reservoir behind it?

qoonpooka

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 11:48:57 am »

How about adding oil to the game as a underground resource? Oil could have many uses:

-It could be a coal substitute (I am no expert in metalurgy so if thats unrealistic cut it ^^ )
-it could be used in traps that make fires
-flasks of burning oil!
-create lots of smoke while burning to obscure vision