Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: New civ: Taconites  (Read 1235 times)

Taco Dan

• Bay Watcher
  • Master of aborted projects
    • View Profile
    • Shattered Monkey Gaming
New civ: Taconites
« on: January 01, 2010, 06:38:06 pm »

I want to make a race of sentient tacos. (See my avatar)
Unfortunately I have no modding experience other than looking at the raws and reading through the wiki article.
I think what I'll do is put parts/features up, list the status, and finally upload the raw file when I'm done.

Version 1.0 is finished:
Download it here
« Last Edit: January 02, 2010, 11:24:37 pm by Taco Dan »
I think I would remember if I had amnesia.
I'd like to remind everyone that half of the time I don't even know what I'm talking about. The other half of the time I only sort of know what I'm talking about.

carriontrooper

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: New civ: Taconites
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2010, 06:23:38 am »

-Giving them a hard shell
[SHELL] tag on the creature, look at turtles.

-Making other sentients eat them
give them [BUTCHERABLE], again on creatures. Although probably only the elves will eat them.

-Giving them different organs
In the body_standard file, look for the ORGANS body part. Copy paste modify. Some useful tags to know about:
[BREATHE] this part is used for breathing
[CIRCULATION] BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD
[THROAT] sometimes needed to connect the [BREATHE] to other bodyparts, methinks.
[SIGHT] used to see
[HEAR] used to hear
[SMELL] used to smell
[NERVOUS] Debilitating injury if damaged/broken
[THOUGHT] used to think
[INTERNAL] it's inside the body... like organs.
I am wretched, but I am STRONG!
I am the future... I AM ZERG!
LIVE FOR THE SWARRRRMMMMMMMM

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2010, 06:27:54 am »

-Giving them a hard shell
[SHELL] tag on the creature, look at turtles.