Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Cages full of bodies!?!?  (Read 1252 times)

westside

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Cages full of bodies!?!?
« on: December 29, 2009, 11:29:05 pm »

I'm pretty new to this game and I bought cages for the first time. I want to make cage traps out of them, but whenever the mechanic goes to load the trap it says that there's no cage available. So I checked my depot and it turns out they all have animal bodies in them. I don't know if he isn't using the cages because they're in the depot or because there's bodies in them, but please explain to me how to get rid of the bodies and move the cages because I want to get a zoo going. Thanks.

Lord Dakoth

• Bay Watcher
  • That's a hammerin'.
    • View Profile
Re: Cages full of bodies!?!?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2009, 11:32:24 pm »

If you look in the cage, you can mark the corpse for dumping by pressing "d."

Providing that you have a garbage dump (designated with "i" from zones) and a dwarf with refuse hauling (enabled by default,) someone should come along and dump the corpse into the garbage dump (not refuse stockpile) and forbid it. You can un(f)orbid the corpse if you don't want it sitting there.

The corpse probably comes from traders. I occasionally find corpses in supposedly empty cages I get from traders, especially elves.
Avatar by legendary engraver /u/Redicno of reddit.

westside

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2009, 12:29:13 am »