Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Interface suggestion and job ordering  (Read 673 times)

Tarlin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Interface suggestion and job ordering
« on: October 28, 2006, 10:47:00 pm »

I'm new to the game and play it for about a week so maybe i just don't know some basic things. If so treat items as questions instead of suggestions please.

1. I'd like to see items in building in "k" mode just as it is in "t" mode. Now "k" mode over building show nothing of interest except its name. Why not call for building the same function as in "t" excluding "lock at nearest building" part of it?

2. Many jobs su as fishing are not interruptibe. I see "no fish in the river" message, turn off fishing in my fisher's active skills screen and have to wait for him to go drinking or sleeping... It would be great if pressing "r" in "j" mode transfer a dwarf occupied with anything to "no job" state immediately. On adding some job as construct floodgate at the mason workshop and seeing my mason just start to go for stone 2 screen away i want him to stop and reveiw available job list.

3. What about job list ordering?
I'd like hauling have the least priority despite job creation time or i dont know what else is matter now. If dwarf has repositioned some stone i'd like that he catch newly appeared jobs in workshop instead of going for the next stone.

4. May be hauling jobs inside one obect type have to be prioritized according to pathlength to be hauled? Or even including starting pathlength for the dwarf in question to initial location of the object? Now they tend to run for the farthest stone.

5. The same for mining. If the dwarf decide to mine he should mine nearest location. Current behavior is not obvoius and somtimes just dumb.