Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: One-shot comics!  (Read 6614 times)

bjlong

• Bay Watcher
  • [INVISIBLE]
    • View Profile
One-shot comics!
« on: September 07, 2009, 12:14:44 am »

What is this?

A while back, while trying to get my mind off of physics homework before going to bed, I started drawing pirate comics. They went from start to finish in two to three hours, didn't have any sort of editing, and tried to be funny. Sometimes, they even were.

This topic is a repository for such comics. Specifically, comics that try to finish in five panels or less, that went from start to finish in five hours or less. Funny ones are good, but any comicish thing will do.

Now, some of you might be wondering if you can post your own comic. Hellz yeah, you can, that's the point of this topic. Just follow the rules for comix, and it'll all be good.

The Rules for Comix:
  • Comics must go from start to finish in five hours or less (worktime, not actual time--if you have to go somewhere in the middle of drawing, that's fine)
  • Comics must have five or less panels
  • Comics should hit an emotional payoff in those five panels. Think punchline, but not necessarily funny.
  • Comics, when posted, should be in spoiler tags.
  • Comics may have storylines that run for five strips. These strips should be posted together, so noone has to dive through the thread.
  • Anyone apologizing for their art is immediately disqualified from ever running for President.
  • If requested, please type up the transcript to your comic, or edit it until readable. This does not count towards the five hours.
  • Those taking these rules too seriously will have a rough time of it. Just sayin'.

So, some comics!

A general note--if there are two word bubbles from the same character, I generally mean for them to be read with a few second pause in between them.