Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Farming Breakdown  (Read 843 times)

Squirrelly

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Farming Breakdown
« on: August 05, 2009, 08:12:09 am »

I've been playing DF for a few months and am on my sixth fortress.  From what I've read around here farming should be one of the lesser things I have to worry about, but it seems with my newest fort that something has gone wrong.  This is an otherwise wonderful fort, started with three biomes, mostly taken up with barren lands but more than enough woodland to provide starting food and wood.  I get farms set up, buy/gather seeds to start operations, and let things develop.  Having set crops for all seasons in all my farms and setting three of my now slightly over 100 dwarves (was around 60 dwarves when this problem started, friggin migrants) as farmers my fields are left almost entirely unutilized.  An underground chamber I flooded and had farms built in has only grown a few plump helmets.  This problem went on for some time because I had herbalists picking up the great slack left by the farmers.  Any clue what's wrong?

Demonic Spoon

• Bay Watcher
  • Peering from beyond the veil of reality
    • View Profile
Re: Farming Breakdown
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2009, 08:43:20 am »

Are you out of seeds? Remember cooking destroys seeds, while brewing, milling, processing and eating the raw plant gives you seeds. And it'd be best just to have a few highly skilled planters that do nothing else, since the growing skill affects plant stack size and thus the entire production line.

Quatch

• Bay Watcher
  • [CURIOUSBEAST_ GRADSTUDENT]
    • View Profile
    • Twitch? Sometimes..
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2009, 10:26:20 am »

You might also have all your seeds trapped in harvested but unused plants.
SAVE THE PHILOSOPHER!