Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Messy Floors?  (Read 1489 times)

Incendax

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Messy Floors?
« on: May 05, 2009, 02:05:08 pm »

I'm pretty new to DF but I've managed to figure out quite a few tricks.

One thing that completely defeats me is the random articles of clothing that are left in bedrooms and ESPECIALLY barracks. I've loaded those items with Cabinets and Coffers to see if that makes a difference, but even with 4 Coffers to every 1 Bed my Barracks still gets covered in clothing articles.

I realize I could just ignore it, but it's aesthetically aggravating.

geoduck

• Bay Watcher
  • mollusk
    • View Profile
    • Geoduck's Page
Re: Messy Floors?
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2009, 02:14:39 pm »

It can't be avoided. Short of flooding the room with magma, all you can do is hide the discarded clothing:

http://www.dwarffortresswiki.net/index.php/Hide_Items/Buildings
Geoduck's graphic set: simple and compact!

Shoku

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2009, 04:53:32 pm »

This is a result of sparring wrestlers. Have them spar with weapons and they won't grab so much clothing.

And if you're training them to wrestle first so they have fewer injuries with weapons that might be a bad idea because a swordmaster is actually safer about his sparring than a recruit with a sword. Giving a very strong dwarf a weapon he isn't trained in can be extremely dangerous. If you train a champion through wrestling and then he switches over to an artifact mace... well, you'd better have quite the hospital.
Please get involved with my making worlds thread.

Tcei

• Bay Watcher
  • Fear me! I am Bekat the Adorable Skull!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2009, 07:59:47 pm »